Novice Photographer: Its a steep but enjoyable learning curve

I’ve never particularly been one for the camera and to be honest, whilst teaching courses I personally think its a massive no-no. For one, your priority is clearly the customers you are teaching; and as I’ve recently found out, once you have a camera in your hands and descend into the blue your dive takes on a whole new meaning!

BusyReef

Sure I’ve been through the Go-Pro waiving stages when fun diving in the past but lets face it, every camera has its place. Go-Pro have it nailed for action sports and adventure but when it comes down to detailed shots of particular subjects underwater than you need the right tool to do the job.

I recently blogged about my new camera, the Canon G7X MkII. Since then I have been collecting advice from the web, good friends who happen to be pro’s in the dive industry & of course, the seriously keen diving guests I have met here at Tufi. My learning curve has been extremely steep but I have to say pretty damn exhilarating too, especially when I post some of the results & receive comments/ likes that just show I must be doing something right.

A firm believer of ‘the best pictures are in my head‘ I really could not see the attraction of using a camera underwater, but it extends your dive. No you don’t get longer underwater silly but what I have noticed is that a dive of 1 hour duration becomes 3 or even 4 hours, as post-dive I trawl through the gazillion snaps looking for that awesome shot I took earlier. It’s also rather frustrating but also comical; that moment underwater you take a shot and see it in the LCD, “Yes, that’s awesome” states the monologue, only to find that when back on dry land the same shot is duller than a party political broadcast and the one you where ready to bin straight away turns out to be the bomb.

The secret to getting a good shot is that there is no secret, it’s trial and error (lots of error) until you find something that works. Listening to those with experience, researching the methods, learning about the multitude of settings. I have personally found this chap Josh and his tutorial to be rather handy, I certainly understand it better after reading his articles.

Last week I had the pleasure of meeting and diving with Author, Journalist & Photographer Kevin Rushby as he collated information for a future article to be published in ‘The Guardian.’

IMG_0587
Kevin visiting the WWII Land Rover at Tufi Wharf

Fortunately we had time (due to a flight delay) to run over some useful hints and tips when using my camera. The results have been fantastic and dare I say, even exciting (if the results match up to the theory). Of course the frustration kicks in, as does the underwater monologue chuckles as I cock it up numerous times until I get something vaguely like what I am aiming for. All in all, I never knew that working with a camera could be so satisfying and entertaining.

A perfect example here: First shot far too much exposure, then approximately 12 shots later….. a significant difference in results just from a few adjustments on the camera settings.

IMG_0613

CuttleFishDark

I don’t envisage diving without a camera anytime soon so if you are looking to increase the excitement of diving then I strongly suggest buying a good quality camera such as the G7X MkII, oh and maybe a spare hard-drive as you’ll fill 1 Tera pretty quickly!

Here’s a few of my latest snaps over the last week or so. You can find more on my Instagram page, feel free to comment, like, share etc etc.

Lacey_Scorpionfish

Nudi

AnenomeShrimp

Descent

LoneNemoA

Nemo1

NemoHD

Wreck_Collage

What would you like to know about diving at Tufi Resort? Let me know & I’ll give you the information.

One thought on “Novice Photographer: Its a steep but enjoyable learning curve

Comments are closed.